Georgia DUI Laws

You probably already know whether a DUI conviction would be a life changing event. For our clients, the primary factors seem to be Employment and your ability to manage not having a license or a term of incarceration. Additionally, the gravity of your situation is based on how many previous DUI arrests you have had.

GEORGIA DUI LAWS

*DUI laws vary by state. This information is for the state of Georgia and is subject to
change according to DUI legislation.

First Offense

  • 1. Fine: $300 - $1000 plus surcharges-- about 40%);
  • 2. Jail time � The statute says 10 days �minimum.� Realistically, the Judge may, and most do, suspend all but 24 hours.
  • 3. 12 months on probation
  • 4. 40 hours of community service
  • 5. 12 months license suspension, reduced to 120 days with proof of completion of a DUI risk reduction course, and most drivers are eligible for a temporary work permit. No temporary for a commercial driver�s license, under 21 drivers, of DUI Drugs suspension.
  • 6. Most Courts impose a substance abuse evaluation and it has become popular to impose a MADD impact panel.

Second Offense

  • 1. Fine: $600 - $1000 plus surcharges-- about 40%);
  • 2. Jail time � The statute says 30 days �minimum.� However, the Judge may suspend all but 72 hours. Over the past few years the trend across Metro Atlanta is for a longer term of incarceration on a second dui�regardless of whether the prior was within a 5 year period.
  • 3. 12 months on probation
  • 4. 30 days of community service. No joke, that�s 240 hours!
  • 5. 3 year license suspension, reduced to 12 months with the installation of an �on-board� alcohol testing device and full reinstatement after 18 months with proof of DUI school and an ASAM Level II substance abuse program. Commercial Drivers lose license for life.
  • 6. Surrender license plate for vehicle registered in your name.
  • 7. Photograph published in newspaper.

Third Offense

  • 1. Fine: $1,000- $5,000 plus surcharges-- about 40%);
  • 2. Jail time � The statute says 120 days �minimum.� However, the Judge may suspend all but 15 days. As with a second offense, the trend across Metro Atlanta is for a longer term of incarceration on a third dui�regardless of whether the prior was within a 5 year period. Also, any jail time is �high and aggravated� which means no good-time credits.
  • 3. 12 months on probation
  • 4. 30 days of community service. No joke, that�s 240 hours!
  • 5. 5 year license suspension (Habitual Violator), reduced to 2 years with the installation proof of DUI school and an ASAM Level II substance abuse program.
  • 6. Surrender license plate for vehicle registered in your name.
  • 7. Photograph published in newspaper.

Fourth Offense

*A fourth DUI conviction is now a felony if the prior three convictions occurred after July 1, 2008.

  • 1. Fine: $1,000- $5,000
  • 2. Jail, one to five years, with minimum sentence of 90 days in jail.
  • 3. 5 year license suspension (Habitual Violator), reduced to 2 years with the installation proof of DUI school and an ASAM Level II substance abuse program.
  • 4. Surrender license plate for vehicle registered in your name.
  • 5. Photograph published in newspaper.
Georgia DUI Information
DUI 10 Day Rule
DUI Success Stories The Semrau Law Firm
Were Your DUI Test Results Correct?

Cobb County Bar Association www.cobbcountybar.org

GACDL
www.gacdl.org

State Bar of Georgia
www.gabar.org

"Mr. Semrau worked with the prosecutor and worked out a pretrial intervention. This program dropped a possible felony conviction which would have followed me for the rest of my life."
"In defending our son in the face of a felony charge, Scott was masterful in all aspects of his representation. Scott crafted a thoughtful defense, managed key witnesses in a highly effective manner and, in the final analysis, obtained a directed verdict of not guilty."